Georgia Motorist’s Minimum Insurance Coverage Requirements
Updated: Jun 24, 2020
If you are a licensed motorist in Georgia, it is critical to know the minimum Georgia car insurance requirements. These requirements establish the minimum levels of insurance coverage that every motorist must have. In some states this coverage will protect you against property damage, personal injury, and damages caused by uninsured motorists.
Georgia Liability Insurance Requirements
In Georgia you are NOT required to carry medical payments coverage or uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage(UM/UIM). Georgia car insurance requirements only require motorists' to have liability insurance for:
bodily injury liability for one person in an accident
bodily injury liability for all persons in an accident
property damage liability for an accident
Georgia Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Georgia car insurance requirements set the minimum amount that you will need for each of these 3 types of car insurance coverage. The minimum Georgia car insurance requirements are set at 25/50/25, which means that you will need:
a minimum of $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person in an accident
a minimum of $50,000 bodily injury liability for all persons injured in an accident
a minimum of $25,000 property damage liability for an accident
Car Insurance Coverage Across State Lines
If you are covered by Georgia car insurance requirements and you are involved in an accident out of state, and that other state requires higher minimum insurance coverage, your policy will automatically increase to meet those higher requirements. If you are covered by Georgia car insurance requirements, and you have been injured in a car accident, you should get the help of an experienced Georgia personal injury attorney.
Atlanta Car Accident Attorney
At Melman Law Group, we are experienced attorneys dedicated to using our legal services to fight for victims of accidents. We provide high-quality legal representation to every one of our clients. Every client is treated with personal attention and compassion. We help our clients receive proper compensation.
Many people do not understand the thousands of dollars they leave on the table by not fighting their case properly. We help our clients receive proper compensation for their pain and suffering as well as get the medical treatment they deserve. Our services are on a contingency basis, therefore we do not receive payment unless we win your case.
If you choose to work with our team, we will fight to make sure that the person or entity responsible for your injuries is held accountable. In Georgia, the law allows you only a limited amount of time to file your personal injury claim - meaning it is extremely important to hire an attorney as soon as possible after an accident has occurred.
If you need a reliable personal injury attorney, contact us right away. We are available 24/7, including holidays, for your free consultation. Call/text 770-365-7556.